Ableton Live 11 - Instrument Channel Not Receiving MG2 MIDI signals

Earlier today, I added this to another person’s post but then thought it might not be seen there, so I am opening a new topic.

The other person’s post was titled “MG2 in Ableton Lite audio fine but no midi.”

This is my first time on the forum so, if this is not the proper way to bring this issue up, please enlighten me.

I am running Ableton Live 11. I have downloaded the demo version of Midi Guitar 2 and worked through the “How To” video multiple times.

The GUITAR CHANNEL seems set up fine.
Audio From: Ext. In and 1 (the audio interface channel I am using).
Monitor: In
Audio To: Master
The channel is active and armed for recording.
I have the MIDIGuitar2 plugin connected to the channel and its meter responds to the guitar.

The MIDI INSTRUMENT CHANNEL also seems set up correctly:
MIDI From: All Ins, All Channels
Monitor: In
Audio To: Master
I have a midi instrument from the Ableton instrument rack connected to the channel.
The channel is active and armed for recording.

I have been through these steps multiple times with different midi instruments and feel like I am configuring the channels according to the instructions on the video… but who knows?

The midi instrument generates output fine when I use my E-MU keyboard, but does not recognize signals from the guitar channel using MIDI Guitar 2.

As suggested in the other post I referred to at the top of this post, I verified that the “Exclusive” setting in “Record Warp Launch” of preferences is disabled.

So… I must be missing something that ties the output of the MG2 channel to the input of the midi instrument.

I read all the related topics and none of them have the specific issues I am experiencing.

Hi Kim!
Your posts are seen either way (just so you know)! :grinning: I don’t see in your description if you have double-checked the MIDI in Ports in the preference pane? There should be a MIDI Guitar port box checked there as well: