Anyone using MG2 with a looper?

Hi, I’m a newbie here and trying to setup my hardware looping rig with as many sound and instrument options as possible. My setup before MG2 is various instruments (guitars, mandolins, violins) into a few line splitters feeding a Boss gt-1000 then into the Boss RC 500 looper.

My question is how would I integrate the laptop that I have MG2 installed and running on. Do I need to run it through an interface? The GT-1000 has an interface built in, would that work? Should I run the audio out of the laptop into the GT-1000 or straight into the looper?

As you can see, I’m a bit confused by the connections bit and would appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance,
Tony

Hi, Mandoman, and welcome to the forum.

My go-to setup is pretty simple. I like to throw together tracks on the fly and layer up different instruments on my looper. I haven’t used a daw since before the pandemic. My main guitar is a Gretsch 5230t which plugs into a Mackie Onyx 2+2 producer interface which feeds both raw guitar and midi cc commands from a FCB1010 foot controller into a surface pro 4 laptop in tablet config. The whole rig is attached to a mic stand. Output from the interface is then fed to a JamMan Soloxt looper then out to a 1300 watt PA speaker. All effects, cab sims, synths etc are processed in MG2 and selected with the foot controller. I hope this gives you some ideas.

Regards, Max

1 Like

Hi Max,

Thanks for sharing your setup. I hadn’t thought about a foot controller and mic stand setup! Sounds very efficient in terms of having everything at either your feet or finger tips. I’m hoping that the gt-1000 will work as both the USB interface and controller for MG2. So I can setup patches that take the usb output (MG2) from the laptop, control MG2 via midi with the gt-1000 and send all of that to the RC-500 looper.