Anyone using this live?

I’ve spent the last month researching MIDI guitar gear and just got the Tripleplay 2 days ago. Nowhere in my searches did I ever hear of this amazing software until about 2 hours ago. I immediately purchased it and have been playing around with it and SampleTank 4 ever since. I was planning on using the TP live as our keyboard player quit but MIDI Guitar 2 so far seems leaps and bounds ahead of TP or anything hex/piezo. Am I missing something? Is a shoe going to drop lol, or is this really that good and sadly people just don’t know about it?

Anywho I was curious if anyone is using it live and what their experiences with it are? I have an M1 Macbook and Focusrite Solo and was planning on using an AB/Y box to split/combine the Synth stuff with my normal guitar and amp rig.

Look forward to your thoughts/comments. Thank you!

Cheers,

AJ

2 Likes

Hello Allan, welcome here :slightly_smiling_face:

I started playing live from 2017 with only MG for guitar sound/MIDI instruments/looper, sent directly into the FOH.

I now compose and play alone to accompany literary readings, the arrangements and orchestration require more plugins to interpret cinematic type music. So I use MG integrated in a plugins host (Gig Performer) to have more connection possibilities (virtual amps and pedals, midi instruments, fx , audio and midi players…).

One single laptop + some footswiches and expression pedals and that’s it! It doesn’t weigh much and doesn’t take up space.

The mastery of the MG playing technique requires a lot of practice and interpretation to make a midi instrument sound like something other than a guitar, but the result is amazing and rewarding, it opens new perspectives for the creation and playing of the instrument.

Do you know this video? It’s a good example of MG’s capabilities in live music.

3 Likes