Cannot get midi out from MG2 to an ext synth etc? / Studio One 6 Monterey

Hi, I just upgraded my old Mac to a Monterey iMac running Studio One 6, but now MG2 opens up and plays ok within itself but, it will not route midi into other instruments? I’ve downloaded MG2 for later macs, but still the problem persists!? Can anyone help please? Thanks, Tim

Hi Tim!
Welcome here, to begin with! :handshake:

Let’s start at the beginning; what did you choose here?
Interface/MIDI Interface/Output

Hi LoFiLeif, and thank you very much for getting back to me so quickly!
My options within MG2 seem to be different to the ones shown in your photo? Please see my attachment.
As a guitarist I really hope this can be resolved, I’ve always found MG2 so clever and useful!
I look forward to hearing from you,
Best wishes
Tim

Hi @Tim1

My bad ! For some reason I got the idea you were talking about using MIDI Guitar 2 in standalone mode. That is what is in my picture. If you use MG2 as plugin in a DAW (like studio One) you won’t get any options to choose from. In you picture you can see that MG2 says “MIDI output is sent to; MIDI Guitar #1 Out”. So that is what you should be looking for. But I don’t use Studio One, so I can’t really tell in any hands on way how to set up successfully. Can you choose from different MIDI controllers in Studio One? You should have MIDI Guitar #1 as an option there. Sorry, I can’t help you better here. :worried::pray:

Hi again LoFiLeif,

It is a bit strange because MG2 works within itself inside Studio One i.e. makes sound and the MG2 presets work ok, it just won’t send/export the midi data.
Is there a way to completely uninstall / reinstall MG2, maybe this would work?
God I hate changing computers!! :-/

Best wishes
Tim

Well, for what it is worth, I don’t think there is a problem with your install to begin with. It is more a Studio One function question. How do you choose a specific MIDI input for any specific track? Is there such a possibility?