Connecting a Midi Foot Controller to a DAW w/ Jam Origin

Hello,

I’ve been researching different midi foot controller’s to pair with the External Midi option in Midi Guitar (I use GarageBand), and can’t find any tutorials out there on how to connect the two. I’m brand new to the whole midi thing.

I’m looking at Tech 21’s Midi Mongoose & Behringer’s FC1010. Does the foot controller connect to the DAW through an audio interface? I use a Scarlett Solo. Would the midi cable be plugged into the scarlett, and then the foot control would be able to sync with GarageBand and/or any DAW?

I plan to use this for live performance, and can’t seem to find too many people out there that are trying to do the same thing with these foot controllers. Just want to make sure I have everything I need before I make the purchase.

Thanks in advance! Very grateful for the help.

1 Like

The MG plugin remote functions only work with incoming midi ( not the automation parameters!)
Garageband,Logic and mainstage do not support forwarding midi to loaded fx plugins. So you can not control MG with these hosts.
Most of the other DAW’s and live hosts support midi forwarding.
Examples of a few DAW’s are here: https://www.overloud.com/node/166

I’m just a little confused. I already use MG with GarageBand and it works. But connecting a midi foot controller (FC1010) to my Focusrite wouldn’t work? Is the only way to do this with the Apogee GiO?

please tell what yoo want to do with your footcontroller.
ofcourse fcb1010 can be connected to your audio interface if it has midi in input. that is not the problem.

I’d like to use the foot controller to control GarageBand (or any DAW) hands free during my live performances. I’d like to easily be able to switch between patches and mute them without having to touch my laptop.

if you load MG as a plugin in Garageband, you can not switch the MG patches via remote.
If you use our full version standalone or “MIDI Guitar for Garageband” you can switch patches.