How to use midi guitar for live performance

I am just beginning and would like some guidance as to how to use Midi Guitar in a live situation. Sorry for being so basic, but maybe there are some previous posts you could point me to.

Hi Manitoulin
I have the same doubt.
The main page say to use a MIDI pedalboard, but a detailed explanation is missing.

Hey guys, using a MIDI controller is not mandatory ā€“ it simply expands the functionality of the software. Take any MIDI controller and read the manual to understand its capabilities and how to program it. That should get you going. Make sure the controller is connected to your computer and select it in the ā€˜External MIDI Controlā€™ selector in MG2 (I canā€™t remember if thatā€™s the exact name right now because my computer is turned off but itā€™s in the bottom left corner of the GUI). Then, on the MG2 GUI there is an option to select MIDI-controllable parameters which can ā€˜learnā€™ from an active MIDI signal. Itā€™s pretty straightforward. Iā€™m sure there are plenty of people around here who can help if you have more specific questions. Hope this helps.

1 Like

Here is the simplest explanation I can give you. Youā€™ll have to do some reading beyond this as each Midi pedalboard is somewhat different in how you program it, but this should get you going as they all do the basics Iā€™ll mention here.

1. A midi pedalboard does two primary things. (1) it sends Program Change (PC) messages to select presets and (2) it sends Continuous Controller data (CC) to change the value of different variables in the preset.

2. Typically, the process while playing live is to select a preset (using a PC message) and then use CC data to change things in that preset as you play. A simple example might be that you select a preset which gives you a violin voice (using a PC message) and then you adjust the volume of the violin using CC data from an expression pedal attached to your pedalboard.

3. Read #2 again