iPhone 6S plus Vs. iPhone XS Max with MG2

Did I just waste $500? Maybe. I’m a long time 13pinner, a bassist for 45 years with 11 basses that I’ve installed 13pin systems; Ghost, RMC, GK2B, GK3B (internal & external). I recently started playing guitar on some gigs and tried the MG2 app on an iPhone 6sPlus and it blew me away, it tracked some monophonic lines better than my GR and made me want to build an iOS rig. I’m going guitar to iRig Pro, iPhone 6S Plus, with midi control from Roland FC-300 running AUM with MG2 and various soft synths. I could see I was maxing out the 6SPlus so I started shopping the used market. I picked up an XSmax with 4GB RAM and 512GB storage and the A12 Bionic processor for $500 ( just about what used GR-55 sells for). My 6S Plus only had 2GB RAM, 128GB storage and an A9 processor, so I expected a huge leap in performance! But in a word, NOT! With half the RAM and a 5 year old processor, the 6S Plus runs better audio than the XSmax! Both have iOS 13.3.1, both running the same versions of MG2, AUM, i FretlessBass, SampleTank etc… The 6S Plus runs smooth with a 64 sample buffer, while the XSmax hiccups the minute you drop below 128. Latency is much less noticeable on the 6S Plus. Add to that the XSmax will randomly crash MG2, makes it ungiggable. I believe it’s a hardware issue with the A12 and Apple’s current D/A conversion? So I guess the 6Splus becomes the guitar rig iOS device. Anyone have experience with the latest iPad mini 5? I believe it also uses the A12 bionic processer, but the iPad mini 5 retains a headphone output like the 6S Plus, so I’m curious if it has similar D/A architecture and would run smoothly? I also wonder if the iPhone 11 has the same issues as the XSmax? I did a video comparison of the two phones running MG2, AUM, iFretlles and Sampletank. https://youtu.be/UYq3nwchlhI

A/D conversion is done by hardware in your audio interface, so that certainly is not the bottleneck.