MG2 on old laptop- best DAW, interface for stable performance

Hi folks,

I have been using MG2 for a couple of months now on a studio PC with no complaints. Pretty hefty specs on the windows machine so no performance issues other than my stupidity at times.

My hope is to install a DAW, MG2 and Triton Extreme on an old toshiba with an AMD A8-6410 cpu. I know, buy a new laptop. I just can’t justify the expense right now.

After installing every DAW that I own and testing every interface I could get my hands on I have a setup that achieves my goal of recording on the go.

DAW: Harrison Mixbus 32c
Interface: Behringer guitar link
ASIO driver: ASIO4ALL

The thing that makes it all work is the flexibility of Mixbus32c. The routing capabilities and performance optimizations in this DAW are incredible. It uses the resources of this measly little laptop and makes it possible to record a guitar track, route through MG2 and then route the MIDI to the Triton. All with acceptable latency. I had to go to 512 buffer size for recording but it is dooable. I’m still experimenting trying to squeeze out a few more cpu cycles to get down to 256 but this is working.

Any tips are greatly appreciated!

jab

Hello Joe welcome here :slightly_smiling_face:

The CPU (and RAM) load is partly due to the applications used but also to all the background applications and Windows services which are incredibly numerous and mostly unnecessary.
The undesirable effect of these unnecessary elements also has an impact on the stability of the OS and the applications used which can crash more easily and be penalizing or even disastrous in live performance.

The 2 essential points to manage are the applications and the system optimization:

• Applications:
    On my laptop as on my desktop PC, I have 2 partitions, one of which is exclusively dedicated to audio where only the applications, devices and services needed for audio are installed and nothing else.