Need advice on purchasing a breath controller

Need advice on purchasing a breath controller. I’ve never used one before but am thinking it may quite useful.

It would be nice to have one with an actual midi port connection rather than usb as I’m running low on usb ports on my laptop and the Presonus interface I use has midi ports.

I built my own with arduino and is Bluethoot LE. Works really great

1 Like

I’m not sure what you are referring to.
The physical controller or an interface?
Maybe a usb to midi interface?
Seems sort of redundant.
I could just add or split a usb port on the laptop.

I built a midi breath controller with just arduino and a pressure sensor. It connects to ipad/iphone/mac via BluetoothLE so no need to use a midi or usb cable to connect to you device.
TEC breath controller seems to be usb only

1 Like

Hi Alex! I would love to see a pic, video, or sketch of how you did it.Where you get the parts and all that? I’ve been looking to solve the wireless breath controller myself with mostly what I had already, so it is kinda clunky (and feel dum to suggest to others when I know there are better alternatives). I would be interested to hear about the range as well: any Bluetooth LE solution I’ve tried has been somewhat restricted (20m max perhaps?)

2 Likes

Hi Lofileif,
above some pic of my own breath controller.
It is just an arduino nano 33 ble and a pressure sensor mp3v5004gvp.
Honestly I use it in my live band shows and do not need more then few meters from my ipad. Do not know if with more then 20 meters it still works.
The case is 3d printed.
For more advanced use (i just use breath pressure) you can even print a mouthpiece with everything inside and also use head movements for additional midi controls.
The white cable should be connected to a power source. Any mini power bank works for hours.
I keep the case and power bank buckled up to my guitar strap

1 Like