Professional Quality MIDI File Download Site

Hi everyone, I’m new here. Hope I’m posting in the right place.

I’m a professional musician and I use MIDI files for backing tracks live. I recently did a cruise ship gig that was both pop music and jazz standards depending on the venue. If anyone is looking for professional quality MIDI files to download for free, check out https://midifilesdownload.com . The site has a huge jazz MIDI file collection as well as lots of other musical styles, rock, R&B and more. Quite a lot of my backing tracks came from this site. The MIDI files will require editing to your needs of course but it is a great place to start. If you need MIDI files for a cruise ship duo, this is the place. Helped me out tremendously. Hope this helps you too! .

2 Likes

Hello @TechE , welcome here :slightly_smiling_face:

Thank you for the link.

I will add this one to complete the database, even though they may not be professional files.

midi world

Thanks @Harold…much appreciated.

Thanks TechE. I’m pretty new to working with midi files. Will these open in separate instruments? I mean if you want to use just the keys or bass or something can you extract just the instruments you choose?

To check that possibility out, I downloaded a Bob Marley song (Exodus) and verified that the .MID file is Type 1, which has each instrument on a separate track. Type 0 files have everything on a single track, so it wouldn’t be possible, or at least easy, to extract an individual instrument from it.

I opened the exodus-2.mid file in MIDIYodi, a paid MIDI editor available for both Windows and Mac, and was able to save an individual track (instrument) using the File | Save Tracks option. I opened that saved track in MIDIYodi, and verified that it was just the single instrument and that it played back properly.

You can check out MIDIYodi at: MIDIYodi.