Redirect keyswitch to footswitch?

I have several VSTs which implement “keyswitch articulations” as variations of a sampled instrument, and I have figured out one way to implement that on a guitar, but it seems like a hack, and I’d like to find a better way, so I’m asking here.

What I’ve done so far is to implement a transposer on a footswitch press, which momentarily moves the octave down where I can actually play the keyswitch note (which is frequently in the C0 or C1 octave), and this does work, but I couldn’t call it “fluid”, especially since there’s no guarantee that the keyswitch note I want is anywhere related to whatever key I’m playing in. :slight_smile:

I’m still pretty new to the MIDIverse, but if I’m reading things correctly I may be able to get a programmable device like the Airstep which is capable of sending an actual MIDI note from its footswitch. This would be lovely and simple, I think, but can anyone confirm that it does in fact work with MG3, as essentially a secondary MIDI note input? (I’m probably going to get me an Airstep regardless as it looks like a useful piece of kit in general, but confirmation is always good!)

My real question, here, is: is there any other way to implement such a note-driven keyswitch articulation, that I am missing? I’ve already got a couple of controllers that can send MIDI CC messages, but what the software wants for its keyswitch articulation is a note. Is there any way to use a CC message as a trigger to send a note instead?

Thanks for any illumination here!

Most DAW’s have logical editors where you could transform CC to Note messages. Most foot controllers can be configured to either send PC, CC or Note messages. What equipment do you have?

I’d like to be able to do it standalone/live if possible, but I admit I hadn’t thought to look at having the DAW do it.