Using Midi Bass polyphonically

Hi Everyone,

I am a bassist using the Roland GK-3B with a Gi-20.
I have been trying to find an alternative way to use Midi Bass polyphonically and I seem to found a way if you have a Roland GK-3B pickup.

I hooked up the GI-20 via midi to my Presonus audio/midi interface and opened my DAW (Studio One 5) on a windows pc.

I then setup an audio track with an instance of MIDI BASS and set midi input within MIDI BASS to ANY / Omni.

I have the GI-20 listed as an external midi controller in the midi options of Studio One 5, set to receive from the audio/midi interface with the audio/midi interface set to MIDI ALL and Split Channels ticked.

I then added 4 midi instrument tracks with no actual instrument on them and set each one to receive from MIDI BASS, and set each tracks midi channel to 1, 2, 3, and 4 to correspond to the the bass strings and to the pickups of the Roland GK3B. I then muted the output on the audio instance of MIDI BASS and left the instrument tracks active and BINGO !! polyphonic MIDI BASS :blush: Please note this only works in a DAW.

Sorry for the long winded explication, but I’ve been trying to work out how to do this for a while.

3 Likes

Good job! This is a good tip for bass players.

And for those who play live, it works even better with a plugin host :wink:

1 Like

Thanx :slightly_smiling_face:I needed to figure it out as I have a live show coming up.
Would you have my idea of a good plugin host I could use, as I don’t really want to go through my DAW?

Without hesitation I recommend Gig Performer that I’ve been using on stage for a few years.
Many users are switching from other software to this one. It has been thought, designed and developed by and for musicians (also former developer at IBM).
See Trey Gunn (King Crimson musician)

2 Likes

Brilliant will check that out🙂
Thanx