Which VST Instruments Sound Best w/ MIDI Guitar 2?

Hi, all. Finally got MG2 up & running in Studio One Six. I’d be interested in learning from you your favorite instruments and presets - synths, samplers, keyboards, brass, strings, pads, whatever - and how you use them.

I’ve got the Native Instruments Komplete Bundle, UVI instruments, a bunch more.

I’m pretty new to this, and mostly using my setup for composition, backing tracks, and sheer creative fun. For inspiration, I’m wondering what and how others use MG2 in various combinations. (Equally interested in what doesn’t work well!)

Hi there @diverdjango

I’ve done a few of these “Best software for MG2” - videos over the years. They are all on my YT channel if you are interested. LoFiLeif - YouTube

In my experience there are a more instruments that work and play good in UVI containers (Falcon or Workstation) that there are for Native Instruments Kontakt generally. But there are certainly duds for both. But as we are closing in on MG3 and MPE compatibility, I would also have you look at those instruments that are already MPE enabled. It is a world of difference to work with, since we can finally have the specific characteristics from our guitar come through as asset instead of a hindrance. I have a series of videos on MPE instruments as well. But generally I’d say UVI has shown to be further along into fully implementing also MPE into its libraries than Native Instruments. What I want generally are nimble, responsive and flexible instruments, and here is one of those videos, in which I go over my findings. Hope that it can be of some use to you! :+1:

3 Likes

Excellent, Leif! I’ve watched & been inspired by several of your videos, but I haven’t seen this one. I’ll give it a look right now. I love your work, too - you have an uncanny ability to make “out there” seem as melodic and natural as bebop.

3 Likes