Willl a miced classical work with MG2?

Hey all, I’ve been playing classical for many years, so I just did a search on the topic of ‘nylon string’ and found a few threads on using nylon stringed guitars with under-saddle piezos and that they worked very well. As it so happens I have a classical that is set up this way, but my favorite classical is purely acoustic. Which got me to wondering – can anyone here address how well MG2 will track a miced classical?

If it matters at all, the room I would use is acoustically dead, so there would be no reverberation artifacts being created. Can’t say that about the dog, though. (He’s barking right now.)

1 Like

I have never tried to put a microphone in front of an acoustic guitar but I have just tried it right now and it works perfectly.
After that, it’s up to you to adapt your playing to eliminate unwanted artifacts but I don’t think it should be a serious problem.

It will “work” but it depends on your playing style as to how good it will track and what VST instruments used etc. I always start tracking with a simple piano and blend it in until it sounds nice with the guitar. …I just tested it with a 6/8 finger picking style Am and it tracks good today. One of the nice things about Hardware like GI-20 is you can choose which notes are MIDI and really blend in Guitar and only a few notes of MIDI. MG2 if you strum all 6 strings Am chord, MG2 will also send all 6 strings Am chord MIDI. Where as Hardware you can have only the A and D string as MIDI. One fun thing is if you talk it will MIDI your voice!

I tried Nylon classical Guitar input to ASIO device through MIC. MG2 does the same as Steel string guitar. That is exactly the reason I prefer MG2 to MIDI pickup because I plan to use MG2 to convert my playing to MIDI in order to use NI’s new PICKED NYLON VST.