Setting up Midi Guitar 2, TEControl BBC 2, and Respiro

Hi all, I’m new to Midi Guitar 2 and need setup help.

I have Midi Guitar 2 running standalone with MIDI Interface section configured as follows:

Output: Scarlett 1818 USB
Controller: Breath Controller-{serial number or something}
Channel 1

Respiro is also running standalone with Active Midi Input set to Scarlett 1818 and Breath Sensitivity section set to:
Mode: BC
CH: 1
CC: 2

When I play guitar and blow into the BBC2, there is no sound is coming out of Respiro. The Breath Sensitivity display shows no activity. MIDI indicator is not lighting up either.

Hello GovenorSilver,

You must not run the Respio VST in parallel in standalone mode. You need to insert it in MG2 as instrument. Then select under “MIDI Interface” the breath controller.

Example with SWAM sax:

1 Like

Thanks! I now have sound with Respiro running as an AU and response to the BBC2!

Next step is to set up responsiveness to pitch bend. I set Bending to Enabled (Range 12) in MG2. In Respiro I have Pitchbend set to On with +12 and -12. Sliding my finger up and down a string seems to generate the expected response from Respiro. However, finger vibrato does not trigger any pitch bend like what I see in MG2 videos on Youtube. Or is that behavior only possible with SWAM and Audio Modeling plugins?

Maybe you try to set pitch bend to 2 only. 12 is very high and you can’t really recognize when bending a string.

I changed the bend range to 2 on both MG2 and Respiro. Respiro still does not respond to string bend or vibrato.

The Respiro manual says the orange slider under the Bend On/Off button should be moving left or right if pitch bend data is being received. Nothing I do is making that slider move.

I don’t have any other MIDI gear connected so there should not be anything intercepting MIDI pitch bend between MG2 and Respiro.

Set it to “-0 and +2”
You don’t have a “down” rate