Stage Optimized Computer? Discussion

In their February 03, 2020 blog Gig Performer makes the following statement:concerning using computer versus discrete hardware as a performance tool: “Crashing – Well, I’ve been using a computer-based setup for more than 3 years – not a single crash on stage or rehearsal for that matter. Any hardware can crash, but a stage-optimized computer will typically crash only if its hardware fails. Hardware in any pedal can fail exactly the same way a computer can fail.”

Okay, I don’t doubt the validity of the statement but what is a “stage-optimized computer”? The blog doesn’t say. (soapbox pet peeve don’t write a blog article and use a self made term without providing YOUR definition so you and the reader are on the same page) and an internet search didn’t bring up any useful articles or definitions.

I have an idea in my mind what the writer means and I bet you have an idea too. However do your idea, my idea and the writer’s idea agree or disagree? Who knows.

1 Like

imho it is more a “stage optimized computer human situation”.

• You know what is running on your computer ( no social media apps running, no internet chat apps running, no internet active, no auto updates running )
  • You have adjusted your settings to safe ones. E.g. running stuff at buffer 64 may lead to a simple crackle at home every know and then, but on stage this is a no go. Choose safe settings with performance headroom.
  • The software on the computer is in a wellknown and trusted state. No early beta’s, major OS updates (allways wait for the bugfix updates, and community reports)
  • You have a reliable casing and cabling for your computer/ipad and interface (you don’t want to loose your USB stick in mid concert ;).
  • Allways have a USB spare cable.